zhb

zhb

The Center for Higher Education (zhb) is a central scientific unit of TU Dortmund University. It studies issues in the areas of higher education, science, organisations, management, continuing scientific education and higher education didactics, and it collaborates internationally. In addition, it provides services in the areas of continuing education and training, higher education didactics, foreign languages, inclusion and accessibility.

The Center for Higher Education has three chairs, "Higher Education," "Human Resource Development and Change Management", and "Organizational Studies, Continuing Education and Social Management," and four departments, "Disability and Studies," "Foreign Languages," "Academic Teaching & Faculty Development," and "Continuing Education." Some 55 to 60 scientific and non-scientific staff work at the Center.

The Center's research focuses on governance in higher education, and its transformation – especially governance in academic teaching and continuing scientific education. The Center also studies processes of change in academic work, in the context of changing political and institutional frameworks. In addition, the Center studies the topics of non-traditional students, evaluations of research, and quality development in higher education. In the area of higher education didactics, the Center focuses especially on engineering instruction, including the topics of virtual learning environments, creativity research and laboratory didactics. Other work areas include leadership research; health as it relates to leadership; knowledge transfer; knowledge management and organisational learning; and the relationships between higher education institutions and other types of organisations. As to methods, all research conducted at the Center consists of theoretically based, empirical (quantitative and qualitative) analysis (often placed in an international context or comparison).

The Center's departmental service areas provide operational support, also in the context of applied research projects, for TU Dortmund University's continuing scientific education, courses in higher education didactics, and foreign language programmes, well as for the university's support for disadvantaged students and for its diversity management.

zhb

zhb

Das Zentrum für HochschulBildung (zhb) ist eine zentrale wissenschaftliche Einrichtung der Technischen Universität Dortmund, die zu den Themen Hochschule, Wissenschaft, Organisation, Führung, wissenschaftliche Weiterbildung und Hochschuldidaktik international vernetzt forscht. Zusätzlich werden Serviceleistungen in den Bereichen Weiterbildung, Hochschuldidaktik, Fremdsprachen, Inklusion und Barrierefreiheit angeboten.

Das zhb besteht aus den drei Lehrstühlen „Hochschuldidaktik und Hochschulforschung“, „Personalentwicklung und Veränderungsmanagement“ sowie „Organisationsforschung und Weiterbildungsmanagement“, die mit den vier Servicebereichen „Behinderung und Studium (DoBuS)“, „Fremdsprachen“, „Hochschuldidaktik“ und „Weiterbildung“ zusammenarbeiten. Das zhb ist Arbeitsplatz für etwa 55 bis 60 wissenschaftliche und nicht-wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter.

Die Forschung widmet sich den Themenfeldern von Governance der Hochschule und ihrer Transformation, insbesondere Governance der akademischen Lehre und wissenschaftlichen Weiterbildung, aber auch den Veränderungsprozessen der akademischen Arbeit im Kontext sich verändernder politischer und institutioneller Rahmenbedingungen. Ebenso findet Forschung zu non-traditional students, zu Evaluationen von Forschung und die Qualitätsentwicklung in der Hochschule statt. Im Bereich der Hochschuldidaktik liegt der Schwerpunkt auf der Ingenieurdidaktik mit den Themen virtuelle Lernwelten, Kreativitätsforschung und Labordidaktik. Weitere Arbeitsfelder sind die Führungsforschung, Gesundheit und Führung, Untersuchungen zu Wissenstransfer, Wissensmanagement und organisationalem Lernen, aber auch das Verhältnis zwischen Hochschulen und anderen Organisationstypen. Methodisch findet sämtliche Forschung am zhb als theoretisch fundierte empirische (quantitativ und qualitativ) Analyse (häufig im internationalen Kontext oder Vergleich) statt.

In den Servicebereichen wird die wissenschaftliche Weiterbildung der TU Dortmund, die hochschuldidaktische Ausbildung, die Fremdsprachenausbildung sowie die Unterstützung beeinträchtigter Studierender und das Diversitätsmanagement operativ betreut und in angewandten Forschungsprojekten begleitet.